British Touring Car Championship Action From Snetterton

Defending British Touring Car champion Colin Turkington made it two out of three victories at Snetterton this weekend.

The 2014 champion converted his pole position into a win for the opening race, followed home by teammates Aron Smith and Jason Plato for a Team BMR podium lockout. Turkington was never troubled throughout the race, as Smith and Plato were left in is dust to squabble over second and third, with a one-second gap between the pair for the majority of the race. Thanks to his blistering pace in the first race and subsequent fastest lap, Turkington started race two on pole position. The poleman was aided by a less than sterling getaway from second-on-the-grid Sam Tordoff in his BMW 125i, who bogged down and slipped behind the Mercedes A-Class of Adam Morgan and Andy Priaulx.

Chaos ensued further back in the field, as Honda teammates Matt Neal and Gordon Shedden made contact with each other going into Hamilton corner halfway around the opening lap. The impact sent Shedden spiralling into the barrier and ending his race. During the second lap, Aron Smith and Dave Newsham collided at Hamilton corner too, the damage proving terminal for both cars. As the race settled down, Turkington stayed in the zone all the way to the finish and led home Morgan, Priaulx, Plato and Tordoff.

Turkington also won the second race as he kept away from the drama down the order to secure his third triumph of the 2015 campaign. Birthday boy Andy Priaulx took the final step of the in his BMW behind Adam Morgan's Mercedes A Class.

The third and final race saw Jack Goff take his maiden BTCC race victory of his career and MG's first race win of the season. The BMW pairing of Andy Priaulx and Sam Tordoff fought hard in race three to finish third and fourth for West Surrey Racing. Andrew Jordan finished fifth and kept his championship chances alive. Elsewhere, Mat Jackson made an excellent pass on the in-form Colin Turkington to round off the top six.

The Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship now moves on to Knockhill in two weeks time (22/23 August) for Rounds 19, 20 and 21.